I am so proud of the Washington Redskins

By Mark Piercewashington redskins photos_2[1]

 I’m in one of the five stages of grieving over my Redskins. Not denial; I know they lost. There’s no bargaining in the NFL. Not in playoff games, anyway. I’m all done with being angry at the result. Perhaps I’m moving toward acceptance. I did briefly harbor a resentment that Seattle was the beneficiary of an astoundingly bad call that won the game for them against Green Bay earlier this season. For sanity’s sake, I knew I had to let that go.

For those of you that haven’t heard or seen for yourselves, here’s the 10 second capsule: the Redskins got out to a quick 14-0 lead over the Seattle Seahawks and then were derailed offensively by Robert Griffin’s ailing knee. The defense played better than we had any right to expect, really, but were unable hold on in the end, with Seattle taking the game 24-14.

There will be endless deconstruction of this game, endless questioning. Was Griffin left in the game too long? How is his health now? He will get an MRI today, and with any kind of luck the Redskins loss will get Griffin what he needs most: rest.

What I want to say now is to the members of this team, who gave their heart and soul to turn this franchise around: You have made us all so proud. There are countless fans like me. We’ve cheered for old DC all of our lives, stuck with you through the hard years. Believe me, it would have been easy and perhaps understandable if we found some other team to root for.  But none of us did.

It’s now the off-season for our team, but as NFL observers can tell you, professional football is a year round affair these days. If there’s Redskins news to talk about, you’ll find it here, I promise. Thanks for being a reader here, and if you liked what you saw here, tell your Redskin loving friends.

Hail!

About ImproperRedskin

I grew up watching the Redskins with my dad. I feel I've always been a part of Redskins Nation. I'm so excited about the direction the team is taking now. I feel somewhat exiled in terms of the skins living in Boston, even though I know there are other fans here. That's pretty much why I started doing this, to touch base with other Redskins fans across the country. There's always something to talk about with the Redskins, isn't there? I want to hear your voice.
This entry was posted in Sports, Washington Redskins, NFL, NFL Draft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am so proud of the Washington Redskins

  1. Back says:

    College: definetly ESPN360.comNFL: NBC Sports will steram 7 NFl Games for free. That is probally the only place where you can watch the games for free LEGALLY IF you want to check the scores and play by play action or radio use NFL.comHope i Helped

Leave a Reply

