Wither thou, John Beck? and other Redskins salary oddities

World's oldest Boyscout

by Mark F. Pierce

To a great degree NFL salaries are set by the greater market for other players at the same position. That’s the goal, anyway. In the old what- have- you- done- for- me- lately NFL, the overarching objective is to pay players the most who are playing the best. That’s a good plan, but it doesn’t always work out that way.

For example, in looking at the Redskins 2012 projected salaries, several seeming salary aberrations immediately become apparent.

Most painful to me as a fan was the realization that former Mormon missionary and erstwhile quarterback John Beck is currently projected to receive 1.3 million dollars as a Redskin next year. That’s more than Brian Orakpo, Ryan Kerrigan, Roy Helu, Leonard Hankerson, and a lot of other great Redskins. I don’t know about you, but if I were Redskins GM Bruce Allen, I’d pay 1.3 million to John Beck if he’d agree to NOT be a Redskin next year.

Seriously, watching Beck play last year was one of the most painful experiences I’ve ever had as a fan. I’m sure the coaching he received  was not the ” never throw the ball more than 5 yards, no matter what” variety.

Image

About ImproperRedskin

I grew up watching the Redskins with my dad. I feel I've always been a part of Redskins Nation. I'm so excited about the direction the team is taking now. I feel somewhat exiled in terms of the skins living in Boston, even though I know there are other fans here. That's pretty much why I started doing this, to touch base with other Redskins fans across the country. There's always something to talk about with the Redskins, isn't there? I want to hear your voice.
This entry was posted in Washington Redskins, NFL, NFL Draft. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wither thou, John Beck? and other Redskins salary oddities

  1. jamiewild says:

    I guess the John Beck/Rex Grossman dilemma was enough to make DC give up three 1sts and a 2nd for a quarterback. But as a Cowboys fan, here’s a question: Do I keep rooting for RG3? It looks active over here, Mark. Keep up the good work. I gave your blog a mention in my latest blog post.

Leave a Reply

