Redskins off-season conditioning program to begin today

By Mark F. Pierce

When I got to work this morning all anyone could talk about was how hot it is for marathon day today. It’s a holiday for most folks– Patriots Day. I just smiled and nodded, like I do about most comments that have to do with Boston sports. What I was really thinking about was that things were gonna get fired up at Redskins Park today with the off-season conditioning program. I thought a little review of the rules that govern off-season conditioning might be helpful.

10 days until the draft

The collective bargaining agreement outlines the rules and regulations for off-season workouts, dividing the period into three distinct sections or phases.

The first two weeks are defined as phase one, with players limited to strength and conditioning or injury rehab. Only full-time or part-time strength and conditioning coaches that otherwise have no other coaching responsibilities will be allowed on the field.  No footballs may be used, except that quarterbacks may elect to throw to receivers provided they are not covered by any other player. No helmets are permitted in during this phase.

The next three weeks are defined as phase two.  All coaches are allowed onto the field and on-field workouts can include individual player instruction and drills. However, there can be no live contact or team offense versus team defense drills and players cannot wear helmets during this phase.

Phase three covers the next four weeks of the workout program, which can include up to ten days of organized team activities. Helmets may be worn during phase three, but no pads.

Man, it’s an exciting time to be a Redkins fan!

About ImproperRedskin

I grew up watching the Redskins with my dad. I feel I've always been a part of Redskins Nation. I'm so excited about the direction the team is taking now. I feel somewhat exiled in terms of the skins living in Boston, even though I know there are other fans here. That's pretty much why I started doing this, to touch base with other Redskins fans across the country. There's always something to talk about with the Redskins, isn't there? I want to hear your voice.
This entry was posted in Washington Redskins, NFL, NFL Draft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

