Is there any way to avoid football cliches?

By Mark Pierce

I read today that uber-conservative columnist George Will had referred to Donald Trump as a “bloviating ignoramus” on the Sunday morning program ABC This Week. I don’t know about you, but I had to look up bloviating, which, as it turns out, means to speak endlessly in a meaningless way. I got a chuckle out of it.

The whole bloviating thing got me thinking about NFL players, many of whom speak endlessly in a meaningless way. I mean, who among us hasn’t guffawed a time or two watching a post game interview with some of the less verbally gifted players? Shannon Sharpe comes to mind, and now he’s a commentator, which shows you how much my opinion matters.

But you know what I’m talking about.

” That was some catch you made for the TD with one second left.”

” Um, yeah. most definitely, most definitely. I just want to thank God and Jesus and my Auntie Edna. You know man, she was always there for me. ”

” I’m sure, Loghead. But how does it feel to be leading the league in reception yards? Is it the new coach, or have you matured?”

” I can’t think about that right now. We just have to take it one game at a time. With God’s help, we’ll make it.”

And on and on. These interviews are completely interchangeable and disposable. Given that, it is a wonder that TV media types keeps pursuing them. I suppose they have become part of the culture, and that fans would miss them if they were gone.

About ImproperRedskin

I grew up watching the Redskins with my dad. I feel I've always been a part of Redskins Nation. I'm so excited about the direction the team is taking now. I feel somewhat exiled in terms of the skins living in Boston, even though I know there are other fans here. That's pretty much why I started doing this, to touch base with other Redskins fans across the country. There's always something to talk about with the Redskins, isn't there? I want to hear your voice.
This entry was posted in Sports, Washington Redskins, NFL, NFL Draft. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

