Griffin targets July 16 as signing date, presses team for ex-teammate Gordon

By Mark Pierce

It would be difficult to accurately predict the exact date that the remaining thirty or so NFL rookies will sign their first NFL contracts, but if Washington Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III has his say in the matter, his own first year deal will be signed by July 16th.

I’ll be in D.C. on Thursday. I will be there this Thursday, and hopefully by the 16th, I’ll be signed and ready to go,” Griffin said. “I have no objections — I’m not trying to hold out or make it seem like it’s not a big deal. It’s just I’m not concerned about it, because I’m sure they’ll make it happen.”

Though there was widespread speculation that this year’s crop of NFL rookies would be more rapidly signed to their first year deals because of the collective bargaining agreement’s limitations on rookie contracts, the remaining crop of 2012 draft picks appear to be slowed by the appearance of something called “offset language” in their proposed contracts. Though offset language is complex, remember this–the players don’t want it and the various franchises do. Financially, it benefits the teams in certain situations that can arise in the fourth year of rookie contracts.

Washington’s third round draft choice, center/guard Josh LeRebius, also remains unsigned. For a more scintillating view of offset language, please see Ian Rappaport’s excellent piece here http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d5d82a72b56/article/whats-the-holdup-for-top-picks-getting-signed-offset-language.

In further RGIII updates, the star first-rounder is apparently lobbying team officials to make a move for former Baylor teammate, wide receiver Josh Gordon in the upcoming supplemental draft. Gordon helped his cause by obliging scouts with a solid pro day in Houston on Tuesday.

 

About ImproperRedskin

I grew up watching the Redskins with my dad. I feel I've always been a part of Redskins Nation. I'm so excited about the direction the team is taking now. I feel somewhat exiled in terms of the skins living in Boston, even though I know there are other fans here. That's pretty much why I started doing this, to touch base with other Redskins fans across the country. There's always something to talk about with the Redskins, isn't there? I want to hear your voice.
This entry was posted in Washington Redskins, NFL, NFL Draft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

